Navy Ranks and Rates

In the Navy, officers have ranks, but enlisted personnel have rates, and are generally referred to by thier specialty rating rather than the generic rate. I.E. Bosuns Mate 3rd Class (BM3) or Macinist Mate 3rd Class (MM3) {specific} rather than Petty Officer 3rd Class (PO3) {generic}.

JAG; Commander Harmon Rabb; Colonel Sarah MacKenzie

Commissioned Officers

O-11 Fleet Admiral (rank reserved for war time only)

O-10 Admiral (Four stars)

O-9 Vice Admiral (Three stars)

O-8 Rear Admiral (Two stars)

O-7 Rear Admiral (One stars)

O-6 Captain (Silver eagle)

O-5 Commander (Silver oak leaf)

O-4 Lieutenant Commander (Gold oak leaf)

O-3 Lieutenant (Two silver bars)

O-2 Lieutenant junior grade (One silver bar)

O-1 Ensign (Single gold star)

Warrant Officers

WO-4 Warrant Officer Four

WO-3 Warrant Officer Three

WO-2 Warrant Officer Two

WO-1 Warrant Officer One (no longer used)

Enlisted Personnel

E-9 Master Chief Petty Officer

E-8 Senior Chief Petty Officer

E-7 Chief Petty Officer

E-6 Petty Officer First Class

E-5 Petty Officer Second Class

E-4 Petty Officer Third Class

E-3 Seaman

E-2 Seaman Apprentice

E-1 Seaman Recruit